Deion Sanders blasts Pro Football Hall of Fame because it is ‘Free for All’


Deion Sanders has a problem in the Pro Football Hall of Fame Legendary NFL cornerback, who was inducted into The Hall of Fame in 2011.Recently, I went on a rant about how easy it is for former players to be enshrined in Canton, Ohio. Sanders believes that the Hall of Fame should not be broken up into two groups, with different jacket colors for each legend player. 

“The Hall of Fame ain’t the Hall of Fame no more,” Sanders, per CBS Sports. “I love it, I respect it, I admire it. I think all the guys who are inducted are definitely deserving, but it needs to be a different color jacket. My jacket’s gotta be a different color.”Each player who is inducted into Pro Football Hall of Fame receives both a gold jacket and a ring. Sanders believes that there should be a higher tier of the Hall of Fame, which includes only 22 players. 

“There needs to be a starting 11, there needs to be an upper room,” Sanders said. “My [bust] don’t belong with some of these other [busts] that’s in the Hall of Fame. I’m sorry, I’m just being honest. I’m just saying what you all are thinking and a lot of you all Hall of Famers are thinking the same thing. This thing is becoming a free-for-all now, man.”

Sanders went on and said which players should be inducted into the Hall of Fame. “That’s what the Hall of Fame is, a game-changer,” Sanders said. “Not ‘I played good, I had a good little run. I gave you three or four good years.’ Who votes? Who votes on this stuff?”

This is the same weekend that the Hall of Fame Class of 2020 was inducted. The class members are Bryant Young (Bryant Young), Dick Vermeil Cliff Branch and Tony Boselli. Richard Seymour (Sam Mills) and LeRoy Butler. The 49-person committee, primarily made up of journalists, votes on the Hall of Fame members. Each year, the committee votes for at least four members but not more than eight. 

Sanders was one of the most outstanding cornerbacks of NFL history and was inducted into the Hall of Fame his first year. He was selected to both the Pro Bowl and All-Pro Team eight teams. He was also named Defensive player of the year and won two Super Bowls.