TripAdvisor’s review of a all-you can-eat buffet restaurant is overwhelmingly positive


The Gurkha Buffet Restaurant, Waterloo Road, Blackpool was highly acclaimed. “excellent”Personal and other members of the staff “very relaxed atmosphere”Until one “very rude”TripAdvisor is slammed by customer

After being told by a customer that the staff at their all-you can-eat restaurant were rude, the owners responded.

The Gurkha Buffet Restaurant, Waterloo Road, Blackpool has been highly praised “excellent”Personal and other members of the staff “very relaxed atmosphere”However, not all customers agree.

The buffet serves a wide range of Thai, Indian, Nepalese, and Chinese dishes. It is located just minutes from the beachfront. Many customers have praised the buffet. Lancs Live.

The eatery provides various cuisines for fixed prices with adults charged under £16 on peak days.

Customers have been raving about the excellent food and service at this restaurant, currently rated 4.5/5. TripAdvisor.

Based on 439 reviews 335 guests rated The Gurkha a “Excellent” and 53 rated it as ‘Very good.

The most recent reviews were five stars, and they praised the buffet restaurant.

One customer wrote: “The staff were excellent and very attentive the tables were kept clean and tidy, empty plates were removed by the time you get back with your next dish.

“It was very hot and delicious. There was a good selection of food and lots of choices for children.

“The Lamb Gurkha curry was amazing but not for the faint hearted as it’s got a good kick to it.

“The decor is beautiful with lots of Gurkha memorabilia, war memorabilia, and other items.

“Very relaxed atmosphere you will not be disappointed.

“We will be returning to Blackpool this week and are looking forward to another wonderful meal with our family and friends.”

Another person commented: “We visited Blackpool over the weekend and wanted some good food.

This was our favorite buffet restaurant. The food was hot. Not lukewarm. A great selection. Friendly staff. It was a pleasant, relaxed environment.”

Another added: “8 people attended the Wednesday buffet dinner on March 18.

“Some of our party had never eaten Nepalese/Indian but they thoroughly enjoyed their meals and having the chance to try something different.

“Staff was very helpful and attentive. The hotel is a good value and worth a visit.”

However, one guest who visited in March didn’t seem pleased with the service they received and wrote a negative review rating the restaurant as ‘Terrible’.

They wrote; “The woman at the reception desk was rude and abrupt when we arrived. She told us to move the tables halfway through our meal because the table was already booked. Food was not as good as in the past.

The Mirror’s newsletter delivers the most recent news, TV and showbiz stories, updates on sport, and important political information.

Every morning at 12 noon and every evening, the newsletter is sent out by email.

Register for our newsletter today to ensure you don’t miss a single moment.

The Gurkha’s owners disagreed with the review and responded by clarifying some points.

They wrote: “We are sorry to hear you did not enjoy your recent dining experience at The Gurkha.

The receptionist did inform me on the situation, however, we did not expect to receive a poor review from you as you did not complain at the time or report it to the Manager.

They said: “We’re sorry you felt rude and abruptly treated by the receptionist. English is her second language so we understand that it can sometimes be interpreted this way.

“We apologise for asking you to move tables 50 minutes in, however, please be reminded that we were actually asking you to move to a bigger, nicer and more private table by the window.

To compensate for the inconvenience, we even informed you that you could stay longer past the 90-minute dining limit, to which you declined.